Every second counts

127 hours – Every second counts

Went to watch one of the oscar nominees -though go home empty-handed- ,127 hours with YongJun.It turned out to be a great encouraging movie.

At the beginning,James Franco as Aron Ralston went for a mountain climbing without telling any of his relatives or friends.So unfortunately,he ended up stuck there.A falling bolder pinned his arm against the canyon wall.No matter what he did,the bolder just refused to let his hand out.Initially he yelled for help,hoping the two girls he met before that would come back.1 day had passed,he knew nobody would come for him.He tried.Using a penknife,he tried to break the bolder.He tried to move the bolder away.Then he realised,the bolder was supported by his arm – when he moved,the bolder seemed to become tighter and tighter.He emptied his backpack,wondering what he had brought there which might be helpful to him.He failed.

“You know, I’ve been thinking. Everything is… just comes together. It’s me. I chose this. I chose all this. This rock… this rock has been waiting for me my entire life. It’s entire life, ever since it was a bit of meteorite a million, billion years ago. In space. It’s been waiting, to come here. Right, right here. I’ve been moving towards it my entire life. The minute I was born, every breath that I’ve taken, every action has been leading me to this crack on the out surface.”

That desperation of getting out of there,that devastating feeling,that I-might-be-stuck-here-forever feeling.One of the most memorable lines in this movie.He lost all his hopes,and started thinking he was destined to be there.

Despite his bad luck,he showed us the other side of him – an optimistic guy.He used his video cam to record what was left with him every day,like a video diary.

“Mom, Dad, I really love you guys. I wanted to take this time to say the times we’ve spent together have been awesome. I haven’t appreciated you in my own the way I know I could. Mom, I love you. I wish I’d returned all of your calls, ever. I really have lived this last year. I wish I had learned some lessons more astutely, more rapidly, than I did. I love you. I’ll always be with you.”

This line really made those tears welled up my eyes.His regret of not telling his mom and friend where he had gone,not replying his mom’s calls..

Realizing all his efforts were of no use,he decided to cut his arm,using his penknife.After knowing he couldn’t cut off his bone,he himself broke his own bone,and managed to leave there.That’s it.His strong survival skill,him,Aron Ralston,a brave guy,hat off for him. :)

Anyway,if you’re not a sentimental person,don’t watch it and end up insulting this so-called boring movie.

That’s all for today :)

Yours sincerely,

WanQing ♥

